Music News

Classic 1973 Allman Brothers Band album expanded for reissue


Out now in both two-CD and four-CD versions is the 40th Anniversary reissue of the Allman Brothers Band's 1973 chart-topping album, Brothers And Sisters. The legendary set, which topped the Billboard 200 album charts for five straight weeks, features such instant Allman classics as "Ramblin' Man," "Wasted Words," and "Jessica." Brothers And Sisters marked the band's first full album following the deaths of founding members Duane Allman and bassist Berry Oakley.

The new special editions include a remastered version of the album, previously unreleased rehearsals, jams, and outtakes from the album's sessions -- along with a previously unreleased concert from September 26th, 1973 at Bill Graham's Winterland Ballroom.

Of all the jam bands of the '60's and '70s, the Allman Brothers Band and the Grateful Dead have outlasted most of their peers in terms of success and a the size of their core audiences. Gregg Allman told us that the musical similarities between the Allmans and the Dead far outnumber the differences: 'Let's put it this way; me and my brother (Duane), I'm speaking of, we're more steeped in the blues than the Dead. Improvisation and spontaneity -- yes, yes, quite a similarity."

The tracklisting to the of the Allman Brothers Band's Brothers And Sisters 40th Anniversary Edition is:

Disc 1 -- Original Album: "Wasted Words," "Ramblin' Man," "Come And Go Blues," "Jelly Jelly," "Southbound," "Jessica," and "Pony Boy."

Disc 2 -- Rehearsals, Jams, and Outtakes: "Wasted Words," "Trouble No More," "Southbound," "One Way Out," "I'm Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town," "Done Somebody Wrong," "Double Cross," "Early Morning Blues," and "A Minor Jam."

Disc 3 -- Winterland, 9/26/73 -- Part 1: Introduction by Bill Graham, "Wasted Words," "Done Somebody Wrong," "One Way Out," "Stormy Monday," "Midnight Rider," "Ramblin' Man," "In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed," "Statesboro Blues," and "Come And Go Blues."

Disc 4 -- Winterland, 9/26/73 -- Part 2: "Southbound," "Jessica," "You Don't Love Me (Includes Amazing Grace)," "Les Brers in A Minor (with Drum Solo)," "Blue Sky," "Trouble No More," and "Whipping Post."

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel